Travel in India – Yatra

Yatra

As the post title suggest this review is all about Yatra. A semi-new travel portal which started life in late 2006. A team made up from ex-ebookers, Reliance Capital, TV18 and Norwest Venture Partners. Quite a gathering.

Yatra is a travel portal, it covers flights, hotels, railway and bus tickets. Your one stop shop for travel. Unfortunately it is only for Indian residents, which simply does not make sense to me. It has a few nice features like price selectors/sliders, but there is a long way to go. Others like makemytrip also do this, but no one seems to want to make it easy. Different days of the week have different prices, why not show me on a graph what is the cheapest month/day to travel, so I can book in advance.

Have you ever wanted to go somewhere, but not sure where, there is a nice “Yatra recommends” section which will help you out. This again could be price segregated, and even better would be a “Reader recommend” or “Reader comments” so they could come back and let others know how good the holiday/service was. This would help the providers and give them some invaluable feedback.

A good start, and with sites like this, and makemytrip, travel in India is only going to get better….and easier

At the start of this article I mentioned the team. For me this is significant, because from what I see, they have a VC with experience in the travel industry, they have TV18 a media company, which will be used to market this, they have founders from the industry, and last but definitely not least, they have additional financing from Reliance Capital also. The latter I think will add to its marketing and providing a customer base, especially if it can bring in Reliance Mobile and its customers. Imagine being offered lastminute deals over a mobile phone.

Travel in India is going to be an exciting but fearcely competitive plave, travelocity is also coming to India…can’t wait, more on that later.

Before I go, Amit on Webyantra just mentioned that mapmyindia is allowing mashups…Yatra guys, you need to include this ASAP.

Funding – $5million last I heard

21 Responses

  1. Are there no good websites in India?

    Jamie

  2. This is good, how do I know if they are the best/low cost than other like makemytrip

    Poonam

  3. Poonam – There is a new startup in travel that might solve your problem.

    You can compare trips & deals from multiple providers on http://www.ixigo.com – launching in private beta in a few weeks.

  4. Hi , Yatra has introduced a travel application on the mobile for Reliance Mobile users. Plus with the added benefit of cash on delivery.

    By the way, Reliance ADA group has also launched their Venture Capital firm [reliance technology ventures] and website mentions Yatra in their portfolio.

  5. iXiGO.com has by far the cheapest rates on all Indian routes that I travel on.

  6. There is always need of good and reliable travel agents and tour operators for tours in India (http://www.indianholiday.com). India being a very popular tourist destination all over the world, India tour packages are in great demand.

  7. India is a very large country and you have beautifully described briefly about India. While planning for India Tour, one should plan in advance. To enjoy your tour to India, you should hire services of a good tour operator.

  8. The traveler would certainly enjoy his stay in Fortune amidst all the facilities and would not look in for any other option in future. The starting price of the rooms in Pune is Rs 8000/-, Navi Mumbai is Rs 8500/-, and Kolkata is Rs 6000/-, visit http://www.fortunehotels.in/spl_offers.aspx

  9. An experienced and genuine travel agent is a must to enjoy your travel in india. I am frequent traveller to india and i rely upon a travel agent named indiantourplanners.com. They are in the service for more than 13 years with vast knowledge about all destinations of india. They have been arranging my travel to india for about 5 years and till now i hasnt faced a problem. You can contact them for your travel deals. visit http://www.indiantourplanners.com

    regards & happy holidays
    James Patrick, Germany

  10. Istanbul Tours, Cappadocia Tours, Ephesus Tours, Pamukkale Tours Turkey Travel Service

  11. Really interesting topic going on here…Thanks alot for this usefull information really learnt alot from it and a good contribution by you on the web. Keep it up with good blogs like this.

  12. Thanks for sharing this wonderful information about Yatra and Makemytrip.com, I use MakeMytrip.com to book my flights.

  13. WARNING !!! do not ever use this web site !!!!!! you can compare flights here but go direct to the air line and use there web site, TRUST ME , DO NOT USE YATRA.COM, THEY WILL TAKE YOU MONEY, NOT HONOR YOUR BOOKING AND MOST OF ALL THEY WILL NOT REFUND YOUR MONEY !!!! thEy have taken 17,000 RPS from my credit card , Failed to Honor the booking and have repeatedly informed me for 4 weeks that my “refund will be processed in 72 hours, this company is a FRAUD , please take my word for it . . . .

  14. Ephesus tours, Istanbul Tours, Istanbul Guide, Ephesus Guide, Ephesus Map, Private tours, excursions with local guides. e-ephesus.com offers guided shore excursions in Kusadasi, Izmir and Istanbul for cultural, Biblical Ancient Ephesus Tours.

  15. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website.

    I’m hoping to see the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own website now 😉

  16. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, good site!

  17. Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company
    you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  18. I was recommended this web site by my cousin.
    I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about
    my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  19. Wonderful site you have in here.

  20. Nice & affordable resource…

  21. Nice & affordable resource…

Leave a Reply

